Guinness Storehouse is the biggest tourist attraction in Ireland with approximately 2 million visitors per year. The building was constructed in 1902 as a fermentation plant (where yeast is added to the brew) and was designed in the style of the Chicago School of Architecture. The building closed in 1988 and remained unused until 1997 when it reopened as a visitor attraction that details the Guinness story.
Enhancing the visitor experience was achieved by engaging with the story, the place and the unique Guinness brand. Celebrating darkness and using well-controlled light to highlight the building and the stories being told delivered a high impact scheme.
A specific lighting language is used to separate the history of the building with the narrative of the brand; this is achieved by using warm white light (2,500 – 3,000K) for exhibits and cool white light (4,000 – 4,500K) for key architectural features. The subtle approach creates a clear distinction that separates the 900-year story with the reality of the cold working conditions experienced by workers within the Storehouse.
Our collaboration with Guinness continues and also included The Tasting Rooms, Advertising, Cooperage, Transportation, Ingredients, Arroll Suite Function Facilities and the main Atrium. All new lighting is LED and designed to be as flexible as possible. Energy consumption has been reduced by 75%.